Find the latest bookmaker offers available across all uk gambling sites Read the reviews and compare sites to quickly discover the perfect account for you.

Mikel Obi Or Emenike For African Footballer Of The Year Award

mikel obi

Africa Footballer of 1997 Victor Ikpeba has tipped Emmanuel Emenike and Mikel Obi to be crowned the continent’s best player this year.

Ikpeba said with the performance of the Super Eagles at the 2013 Nations Cup, Chelsea stars Victor Moses and Mikel Obi as well as Emmanuel Emenike and Sunday Mba will be among the top favourites to win the prestigious African gong.

“I think it’s time for Nigeria to win the Africa player of the year after our winning of AFCON 2013. And I think four players Victor Moses, Mikel Obi, Emmanuel Emenike and Sunday Mba can win the title,” he said.

However, ‘The Prince of Monaco’, as Ikpeba was fondly called during his playing days, was quick to warn that the players must sustain the tempo at their clubs.

“Winning the Nations Cup is not enough for you to win the Africa footballer of the year, so ii must warn these players that they need to continue the good run in their clubs,” said Ikpeba, who is on the technical committee of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF)

Previous Nigeria winners of the CAF Award were Nwankwo Kanu, Emmanuel Amuneke and Rashidi Yekini.

The Confederation of Africa Football (CAF) have fixed January 9 for the CAF Award gala.

Lagos has been picked as host city for the gala, a strong signal that the award may be coming back to Nigeria after Kanu last won it in 2000.

Ivorian midfielder Yaya Toure is the current Africa Footballer of the Year.


About YouNews

Check Also

Ex – FIFA president Blatter hospitalised

Blatter  who was removed from office in 2015 after 17 years at the head of ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *