Find the latest bookmaker offers available across all uk gambling sites Read the reviews and compare sites to quickly discover the perfect account for you.

Ondo poll: Akeredolu takes early lead

The candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Rotimi Akeredolu, in the wee hours of Sunday surged into an early lead as the Independent National Electoral Commission announced election results in some local government areas.

The LGA results announced by the electoral body included those of Ile Oluji/Oke Igbo, Akoko North-East, Ifedore and Irele, where Akeredolu coasted home to victory just as the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Eyitayo Jegede, won in Ondo-East LGA.

The candidate of the Alliance for Democracy, Olusola Oke, closely trailed Jegede in the five LGAs.

According to the unconfirmed figures, Akeredolu won in 10 councils while Jegede had the upper hand in eight. The official results are expected to be announced today. The election was said to have been highly monetised as voters were allegedly induced with money before voting.

Sources said between N400,000 and N450,000 were sent to each of the 3,009 units in the state by a particular party . Security agents, according to the source,  looked the other way as  voters were given between N3,000 and N6,000 each to vote. Early results Oke, Jimoh, Jegede Agunloye and Akeredolu The unconfirmed results  showed that Akeredolu cleared the results in Owo and some units in Akure, the state capital, while Jegede cleared the poll in Akure, Ondo and in some units in Akoko .

Surprisingly, Jegede could not win in Akure, his home town, with a large margin as expected even though he won his polling unit with a wide margin.  The PDP candidate polled 184 votes at St. Brendan’s Primary School,  Akure unit where he voted. Akeredolu got 77 votes while the candidate of the Alliance for Democracy, AD, Olusola Oke, scored 32 votes. Oke came a distant third in the unit results received in Ondo Central and North senatorial districts.

Reports had it that Oke was leading in the units result from Okitipupa council area of the state. Governor Olusegun Mimiko  won in his Unit 020 Ward 7 with 176 votes to APC’s 40 votes and AD’s 25 votes. Also in Unit 021 Ward 7, the governor’s party PDP, polled 92 votes while APC got 23 and AD 31 votes.

Akeredolu in Oke Ijebu Ward 5 won with 413 votes while PDP scored 13 and AD 4 votes. Jegede polled 184 votes in his Unit 009 ward 2 Isikan/ gbogi to defeat APC which scored 77 and AD 32.

About Younews Ng

Check Also

Bishop Oyedepo rejects COVID-19 vaccine, with reasons

The Presiding Bishop of the Living Faith Church Worldwide, aka Winners’ Chapel, David Oyedepo, on ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *