Find the latest bookmaker offers available across all uk gambling sites Read the reviews and compare sites to quickly discover the perfect account for you.

Fear grip APC as PDP win in Oyo,Kaduna

Constant success of PDP during bye elections in recent times is making APC uncomfortable,we gathered.The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party in the rescheduled chairmanship election in the Jaba Local Government Area of Kaduna State, Mr Philip Gwada, has been declared the winner of the poll.

The News Agency of Nigeria reported that the Returning Officer, Grace Doyaro, who announced the result in Kwoi on Thursday, said Gwada secured 17,967 votes to defeat the All Progressives Congress’ candidate, Mr Benjamin Jok, who scored 7,401 votes.

Doyaro described the election as free and fair, devoid of rancour, adding that the PDP won all the 10 councillor seats in the local government.

A week before the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)  declared the candidate of the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP), Adebo Ogundoyin as the winner of the bye-election for Ibarapa East State Constituency.

The seat became vacant following the death of the All Progressives Congress (APC) representative of the constituency who was also the Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Michael Adeyemo on April 27 this year.

Amidst tight security, the election was generally peaceful as the PDP candidate polled 6,277 as against his closest rival and brother to the late Speaker, Kunle Adeyemo of the ruling APC who scored 4,619. An Accord candidate came third with 2,859.

The 31-years old Adebo is the son of the late Eruwa-born philanthropist, Adeseun Ogundoyin who died 27 years ago. He hailed from Eruwa with six wards as against Lanlate-born Adeyemo with four wards that make up Ibarapa East local government.

The governor, Abiola Ajimobi who won the elusive second term as Governor of the state had lost two consecutive bye-elections within one year. This was in addition to similar re-run election way back in 2012 which the then Action Congress of Nigeria lost to the PDP in Oke Ogun area of the state.

The governor’s party lost Oorelope/Irepo/Olorunsogo federal constituency in 2012; Oorelope State Constituency in 2017 and Ibarapa East State constituency in 2018.

About Younews Ng

Check Also

15-year-old flees Plateau to Ekiti to escape child marriage

A 15-year-old girl has fled from her home town in Plateau State to Ekiti State ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *